News for those who live, work and play in the Santiam Canyon

Wolverines wrestling team joins district Hall of Fame

The 1997-98 Santiam High wrestling squad has been inducted into the Santiam Canyon School District Hall of Fame.

The team and coach Kerry Crowston were inducted at a ceremony on Saturday, Nov. 11, in the high school gymnasium. The wrestlers were honored as the outstanding former team.

Team members were, the late Bryan Dodge,Travis Lanham, Nathan Raines, Tyson Hillyer, Sam Ruby, Aaron Thomas, Larry Crofoot, Charlie Schickling, Dan Ruby, Ben Lemke, Travis Hampton, John McClaughry, Jeremy York and Yusef Al- Abdul Razzaq.

The squad took eighth at the Class 2A-1A OSAA state wrestling tournament at the Veterans Memorial Coliseum in Portland, led by two-time state heavyweight champion Dodge. Thomas took third at 215 pounds, Sam Ruby was fifth at 130 pounds and Laham took sixth at 152. In addition, Hampton, Lemke and Dan Ruby took third at the district tournament. 

“It was a great honor to visit with some of the wrestlers from the 1998 team,” said Crowston, still the wrestling coach at Santiam. “That was about my 10th year of coaching and the team still ranks as one of the best. We talked about old stories, like long, snowy trips over the pass and all the blood, sweat and tears that go into the sport. One of the strongest memories I have of the team is how hard they pushed each other to improve during practice.”

Crowston offered special words of praise for Dodge, who died in a lumber mill incident in 2014, and noted that it was “nice seeing his daughters there and that they are following in his footsteps, competing for Santiam in several sports. Finally, it was great seeing them come back to town as fine young men and solid citizens.”

FOOTBALL: The Santiam football squad received 12 honorable mention spots on the all-Tri-River Conference all-star team as selected by league coaches. The Wolverines, who battled injury and small roster challenges all season, finished 0-8 overall and 0-6 in the TRC.

Dallon Mount (offensive line and defensive line), Colt Twede (tight end and defensive line) and Wyatt Dayton (running back and linebacker) were honored twice. Also on the list were offensive lineman Dakota Derrick, defensive end Nathan Hedge, linebacker Lukus Lebahn, defensive back Esai Romero, tight end Brayden Gutierrez and punter Xavier Vital.

Previous Article

‘Christmas Extravaganza’ coming to Mill City

Next Article

Sublimity man’s death remains unsolved

You might be interested in …

Santiam baseball hosts spring golf tournament

It’s time to register for the 2023 Baseball Golf Tournament. The four-person best ball format tournament is on Saturday, May 20, at Santiam Golf Course in Aumsville. Registration opens at 8 a.m. Shotgun start is […]

Kevin Dial

Recovery group seeks new quarters

The Santiam Canyon Long Term Recovery Group, which has spearheaded community response to the 2020 wildfires, is seeking new quarters as well as tweaking its staffing and mission a bit. Kevin Dial, the group’s recovery […]

Oregon Dept of Forestry

Wildfire prevention grants available

Applications are due Nov. 3 for small forestland owners The Oregon Department of Forestry has $2.5 million in state grants available to help small forestland owners reduce their wildfire risks. The funding stems from allocations […]