News for those who live, work and play in the Santiam Canyon

Santiam Canyon schools, Mill City fire district short on candidates

Reporter for The Canyon Weekly

Reporter for The Canyon Weekly

A pair of Santiam Canyon agencies are heading into election season a bit short on candidates.

Both the Santiam Canyon School District and the Mill City Rural Fire Protection District Board have two openings for which no candidates submitted papers by the filing deadline. 

Both agencies’ openings are likely to be filled by write-in candidates.

As of March 16, only Mary Richards (position 4) had filed for the Santiam Canyon School Board. The board also has openings in positions 1 and 3. Richards, a Mill City resident and retired longtime school district employee, was appointed to her position in November 2021 and is seeking re-election.

For the fire protection district, candidates Scott Stewart and Michael Erdman filed for positions 2 and 3, respectively, leaving positions 1 and 5 with no candidates. These seats also are likely to be filled by write-in votes during the May 16 election.

Write-in candidates must be registered voters who meet the residency requirements to serve in the positions. For details on these requirements, call the county clerk’s office at 541-967-3831 (Linn County) or 503-588-5225 (Marion County).

Stewart is a political newcomer and employee of Frank Lumber Co., of Mill City. He is a graduate of Santiam High School.

Erdman is also new to elected office and is a retiree. He worked for 38 years at Hoffman Corp., of Portland, most recently as a program superintendent.

All other Santiam Canyon races feature uncontested races:

Lyons-Mehama Water District: Doug Kelly (position 1) and Mike Walz (position 3) are running unopposed.

Lyons Rural Fire Protection District: Cindy Wagner (position 1), Tiffany Silbernagel (position 4) and Gary Rychard (position 5) are running unopposed.

Santiam Water Control District: Steven Keudell (position 5), David Dalke (position 6) and Steve Schelske (position 7) are running unopposed.

Idanha-Detroit Rural Fire Protection District: Brandon Hamilton (position 1), Teresa Maurmann (position 2), Serena Morones (position 3), Gregory Dyke (position 4) and Matthew Lofton (position 5) all are running unopposed.

Gates Rural Fire Protection District: Carol Swanson (position 1), Alexis Winn (position 4) and John Schaer (position 5) are running unopposed.

Previous Article

Subdivision proposed east of Kimmel Park

Next Article

Saying Goodbye – Emotional service for community leader Mike Long

You might be interested in …

Department of Motor Vehicles

Take your permit test at home

Customers can take their DMV knowledge test anywhere that has reliable internet as of Oct. 4. No need to go into a DMV office. You can test online instead with a computer that has a […]

Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program

SNAP households eligible for lost food reimbursements

Oregonians who lost food purchased with Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) benefits due to the recent winter storms and power outages are encouraged to request replacement benefits from the Oregon Department of Human Services (ODHS). […]