News for those who live, work and play in the Santiam Canyon

DMV offers new services for drivers

The Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) is offering two new services to help emergency responders contact family members and officers be alerted if a driver is deaf or hard of hearing.
If you are in a crash or other situation where you can’t communicate with emergency responders, a new service for Oregonians will help police contact your family faster.
The 2021 Oregon Legislature, under House Bill 3125, created an emergency contact service for Oregon residents. Oregonians can register up to two people, age 18 and older, as emergency contacts for situations where you can’t communicate.
Only Oregon law enforcement personnel will be able to access your emergency contact information. They are able to do so securely through their patrol cars so they can contact your loved ones quickly.
Your emergency contacts can be anyone you choose – family or friends. The only exception is if you are under age 18 – then you must include a parent or legal guardian as one of your contacts.
A parent or legal guardian can also register as an emergency contact for their children under 18 years old.
For deaf or hard-of-hearing drivers, being pulled over by police can cause more anxiety than just getting a ticket.
Oregonians can add an indicator that they are deaf or hard of hearing to their vehicle registration, driver license, permit or ID card through DMV2U.Oregon.gov.
The option places an indicator on their record, allowing Oregon officers to see the indicator from their patrol vehicles when they run the license plate or license number.
The indicator is voluntary, and you can sign up any time through DMV2U. If you want to add an indicator to both your license/permit/ID card and your vehicle registration, you will need to do each separately at DMV2U.
“This significant milestone is geared to build trust and cooperation between more than one million Oregonians with hearing loss and our law enforcement,” said Chad A. Ludwig, Executive Director of Bridges Oregon, “It will foster a better understanding of communication needs while protecting and facilitating a strong relationship with law enforcement officers.”
This new DMV service is part of Oregon Department of Transportation’s commitment to transportation safety and a direct benefit of new technology investments that have accelerated DMV’s ability to launch new services and better serve Oregonians.
To register for one or both services, go to DMV2U.Oregon.gov and sign in to “Access My DMV Profile.” You need to have an Oregon driver license, permit or identification card to register with the service.

Previous Article

Michelle Duncan sworn in as 41st Linn County Sheriff

Next Article

Letters to the Editor

You might be interested in …

Oregon records 80.6 percent graduation rate

The statewide graduation rate for the class of 2020-21 is 80.6 percent, the second highest graduation rate ever recorded in Oregon, according to data released today by the Oregon Department of Education (ODE). “The data […]